Round Is a Tortilla: A Book of Shapes (A Latino Book of Concepts) (Paperback)

Round Is a Tortilla: A Book of Shapes (A Latino Book of Concepts) By Roseanne Thong, John Parra (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Roseanne Thong, John Parra (Illustrator)
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In this lively picture book, children discover shapes all around them!
A feast for the eyes and playful lesson in language for young readers, Round Is a Tortilla features rich, boisterous illustrations, fun-to-read rhyming text, and an informative glossary to explore words in Spanish throughout the book that may be new to some.
Round are tortillas
and tacos, too
Round is a bowl of abuela’s stew.
Oval is my favorite locket,
A special pebble in my pocket.
I find ovals at the store
Huevos, olives, beans galore.
Shape by shape, this playful concept book will reinforce the shapes found in every child’s day: rectangles are ice-cream carts and stone metates, while triangles are slices of watermelon and quesadillas. Many of the featured objects are Latino in origin, and all are universal in appeal.
Perfect for:
  • Parents, caregivers, preschool teachers, and librarians seeking kids' books that offer a fun way to explore shape concepts and multicultural reading
  • Anyone looking to expand the diversity of their reading and build a bilingual vocabulary
  • Birthday, holiday, baby shower, or family gift
  • Fans of Besos for Baby, Palatero Man, Fry Bread, laugh-and-learn books like If You Give a Mouse a Cookie and Eric Carle board books, and Sonia Sotomayor's children's book Just Ask!

About the Author


Roseanne Greenfield Thong is a journalist and English teacher. She is the author of Green Is a Chile Pepper, Round Is a Mooncake, Red Is a Dragon, and Wish. She lives in Fountain Valley, California.

John Parra is an award-winning illustrator, designer, teacher, and fine art painter. His books have received starred reviews, the SCBWI Golden Kite Award for illustration, two Pura Belpré Illustrator Honors, and the International Latino Book Award for Best Children's Book Interior Illustrations. He lives in Queens, New York.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781452145686
ISBN-10: 1452145687
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: August 4th, 2015
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: A Latino Book of Concepts

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events available